Claudio Puglia : Portrait of a moving chef

Sometimes, we like to associate a man to a word that represents him, which tell us who he really is. For Claudio Puglia, it would be Italian gourmet restaurant, obviously…

Opening an Italian restaurant, sharing the treasures of a transalpine gastronomy which exist indeed and too often unknown: it was the wish of Claudio when he arrived in France in the late 1980s.
Young enthusiastic Italian Chef, full of recipe ideas and with the desire to invent new ones…Fortuna audaces juvat, as the Romans said. Claudio has endorsed this beautiful promise. Because fortune favors the brave, he opened the first Italian restaurant in Levallois-Perret, called La Petite Romantica.

And, then begin the adventure of La Romantica. In 1990, he bought a business in a backyard, close to the town of Clichy town hall. A fireplace, a veranda, a garden… What could be more banal? Our Chef shaped a secure and intimate place, away from the noise of the city, peaceful and entirely dedicated to the pleasure of good food. In 2012, the backyard is redesigned to be more refined, more Italian and more comfortable with a Roman or Florentine terrace with plants, green wall, fountains and a garden which remind us this beautiful film by Ettore Scola, La terrazza.

Over the years, Claudio forge his temperament. He stays creative, which is rare in this profession, especially when you become an entrepreneur. As the story continues, he elaborated the idea to create Italian « gastronomic pubs » restaurants offering a cuisine always elaborated with simple products than those from La Romantica. So today, there are four Romantica Caffè restaurants: three in Paris and one in Neuilly-sur-Seine.

Imaginative and thus ambitious,it is obvious. Passionnated, that is the least we can do. To be convinced, all you need is to listen Claudio Puglia about the quality of his products that small Italian producers deliver to him daily. And, when he talks about this creative cuisine in which he eliminated butter to enhance the olive culture, we consequently know what the words Italian gourmet restaurant really mean.

restaurant italien paris clichy

Claudio Puglia : Portrait d’un chef en mouvement

On s’amuse parfois à associer à un homme un mot qui le représente, qui le définit au regard des autres. Pour Claudio Puglia, ce serait restaurant italien. Comme une évidence…

Ouvrir un restaurant italien, faire partager aux Français les trésors d’une gastronomie transalpine qui existe bel et bien et qu’on méconnaît trop souvent : c’était le vœu de Claudio lorsqu’il est arrivé en France à la fin des années 1980. Jeune chef italien enthousiaste, des recettes plein la tête et l’envie d’en inventer de nouvelles… Fortuna audaces juvat, disaient les Romains. Cette belle promesse, Claudio l’a faite sienne. Puisque la fortune sourit aux audacieux, il ouvre un premier restaurant italien à Levallois-Perret : ce sera La Petite Romantica.

Puis c’est l’aventure de La Romantica. En 1990, il achète une affaire dans une arrière-cour, à deux pas de la mairie de Clichy. Un coin cheminée, une véranda, un jardin… Quoi de plus banal ? Notre chef en fait un lieu préservé, intime, à l’écart des bruits de la ville, paisible et tout entier dédié aux plaisirs de la table. En 2012, le décor est repensé. Plus raffiné, plus italien, plus confortable, côté salle… A la manière d’une terrasse romaine ou florentine, avec mur végétal et fontaines, côté jardin. On pense au beau film d’Ettore Scola, La terrazza.

Avec les années qui passent, Claudio forge son tempérament. Imaginatif, il le reste, ce qui est rare dans le métier. Surtout lorsqu’on devient chef d’entreprise. Car l’histoire se poursuit. Avec une idée : créer des restaurants italiens « bistronomiques », offrant une cuisine toujours élaborée mais avec des produits plus simples qu’à La Romantica. Aujourd’hui, il y a donc quatre Romantica Caffé : trois à Paris et un à Neuilly-sur-Seine.

Imaginatif, donc. Ambitieux, c’est certain. Passionné, c’est la moindre des choses. Il suffit, pour s’en convaincre, d’entendre Claudio Puglia s’enflammer sur la qualité des produits que des petits producteurs italiens lui livrent chaque jour. Et puis, lorsqu’il nous parle de cette cuisine créative dont il a éliminé le beurre pour valoriser la culture oléicole, on sait désormais ce que le mot restaurant italien veut vraiment dire.